• 30-Day Returns
  • 100% Refund
  • Free Returns
  • Lifetime Warranty
  • Free Shipping

JamesAllen Reviews

Over the past few years, James Allen has sold over $100,000,000 worth of engagement rings and loose diamonds. We encourage each of our customer to post their review of the product and the process of buying their ring or diamond from us. Based on the thousands of reviews we receive on multiple review sites, we pride ourselves as the industry leader in quality ring manufacturing and customer satisfaction. Please find below some of the most recent reviews written about jamesallen.com. You can click on the Read More link at the bottom of each review column to read more reviews.


I had a fantastic experience form start to finish. The staff available on 24/7 chat were so knowledgeable and helpful and answered all my questions and helped with all my hesitations. I was worried to buy a piece of jewelry online, it was a first for me, but after this experience, I'd definitely do it again. It was so easy to put the order in and keep track of progress. I had my ring in Australia less than 2 weeks after I ordered it. there was a one day delay to when they promised I'd receive it and they let me know in advance. The ring is beautiful. My only tip for James Allen would be to send a smaller package - it would cost a lot less! it came in huge packaging, larger than the size of a4 ream of paper and quite heavy. Maybe invest the money saved on postage on a prettier box for the actual piece of jewelry!! but it's really not that important, it's the only thing i could find to 'fault'! :) I had a terrific experience and would do it again, without hesitation. I am yet to give my husband the new ring, hopefully it will fit - if it doesn't, then we'll send it back for a free resize! Did i mention postage was free and engraving was free?? Fantastic deal :)

J.J. 10/10 (Sep 21, 2015)

Lorraine helped my find the perfect diamond at an amazing price. After spending a few months of researching the "4C's", the Holloway cut advisor, idealscope, price per carat ratios, etc., I still found myself without a sure fire method of purchasing a guaranteed brilliant fiery diamond online. The selection of online diamonds can be overwhelming but without a proven method of selection I was afraid I was going to purchase a "dead" diamond. Luckily I found James Allen and Lorraine, she understood that what i wanted most was a diamond with brilliance and fire, something just using the 4C's can't guarantee. She quickly recommended a few choices and a gemologist inspect along with an idealscope image was done. I selected a 1.62 brilliant round triple X cut K VVS2 which scored a 0.9 on the holloway cut advisor and priced at less than $4,600 per carat. When the ring arrived my fiance was amazed, her sisters were jealous. One sister was so impressed that she actually made a trip back to her jeweler to exchange her diamond. The diamond exceeded my expectations and could easily compete against diamonds twice it's cost. I couldn't have pulled the trigger in confidence without Lorraine, her concern and service truly makes her a diamond in the rough. I enjoyed and appreciated the shopping experience at James Allen and highly recommend the site and Lorraine. thank you, Michael Workman

Michael W. 10/10 (Sep 20, 2015)

I live in Canada and ordered a diamond engagement ring for my girlfriend from James Allen. We were scheduled to go on a vacation to Europe and I wanted to propose while on our trip. I had been looking for a ring for a few weeks and finally decided to go with James Allen because of their positive reviews. When I called I spoke with two ladies named "Anna" and "Angelina" who were incredibly helpful. I explained to them that I live in Canada and that I was going on vacation soon so I wanted to make sure the ring would arrive before we went on our trip. I finalized the order and everything was done exactly on time (customizing the ring, shipping etc). The only issue I had was when it arrived at the border and it was held in customs a bit longer that I had anticipated, but this was not at all the fault of James Allen and they did everything they could to expedite the process. I was quite nervous when the ring hadn't arrived by Monday (as we were leaving on Tuesday), so I called the Canadian customs offices directly and they were also very helpful and immediately released the item. I was told they needed an original copy of the receipt and that's why they were taking longer to release the item. James Allen uses FedEx to ship their products and I believe FedEx should have supplied customs with the original receipt in order to avoid delays, thus I would advise James Allen to forward this information to FedEx so that they can avoid similar delays in the future. But overall, it was a great experience ordering my ring from James Allen, the customer service was fantastic, everything was done in a timely fashion, the packaging was very good, and the ring itself was amazing and my girlfriend loved it (and she said yes!). So I would happily recommend James Allen to anyone thinking of buying an engagement ring :)

S.B. 10/10 (Sep 18, 2015)

This ring ended up better than I could have expected. My fiancé loves it and is getting a lot of compliments on it. I will definitely recommend people to you in the future! Thank you so much! I attached a photo for you to see.

Stephen KnightMessenger 10/10 (Sep 17, 2015)

James Allen is a wonderful place to purchase diamonds! Their customer service representatives were very helpful when I had a question about several different diamonds. They were happy to discuss each one with me.I had never considered purchasing a diamond online, but lafter reading about James Allen on the Diamond Pro website, I decided to take a look. Being able to actually see the diamond you would like to purchase is awsome! James Allen prices are much more reasonable than the local jewelry store and you can't beat their 30 day return policy. I ordered a .50kt princess cut loose diamond and it arrived yesterday by Fedex overnight at 10:30am. It was packaged in the most secure box I've ever seen. When I finally got the box open there was a beautiful display box with my stunning diamond secured inside. I was very pleased and so was my husband! We've bought quite a bit of jewellery over our 33yr. marriage, but were quite impressed with James Allen's quality. We will definitely be back, hmm maybe 35th anniversary? ? Thanks again to James Allen and their wonderful service representatives!

Mauricia K. 10/10 (Sep 16, 2015)

James Allen has been great. I purchased custom engagement and wedding rings for my future wife. They came out awesome. My wife also purchased my ring through James Allen and it was perfect. It came in 3 weeks before the wedding and was a little loose, so we returned it and got the next size down for free. Good service.

Grant N. 10/10 (Sep 16, 2015)

First of all, I must thank Bernardo and Marcus for their outstanding customer service - you are the best! You were both so helpful, knowledgeable, and pleasant to chat with online. I spent at least a month looking at the many thousands of diamonds on the web site. I learned a lot about diamonds and it is so interesting to see the diamonds under 40 X magnification and review the GIA or AGS report. I spent at least a month looking at the various diamonds but with so much information on hand, I was confident with my final choice. My ring arrived last week and it is so, so beautiful! I chose a 1.09 carat diamond, VS-1 clarity and I color. It really sparkles and it is reassuring to also receive the appraisal (much higher than the price I paid) as well as the AGS certificate which details the specifics of the diamond. I have no hesitation in recommending James Allen and will definitely buy diamonds or gemstones from them in the future. Hopefully, the opportunity will arise!

R.A. 10/10 (Sep 16, 2015)

Buying a diamond ring is an important and stressful decision for most buyers. Fortunately, JamesAllen.com alleviates some of the stress when buying an engagement ring. They provide a wide variety for ring styles to choose from and most importantly, they provide HD 360* photos of the actual diamond that you'll be buying. This ensures that you'll get exactly the ring and diamond that you want without any sort of high pressure sales tactics. The ring takes about 2-3 weeks to make and deliver and arrives in an unmarked UPS box to ensure privacy. Inside the unmarked box, the actual James Allen box is beautifully presented and marked. Inside this box is the actual ring and case securely positioned. In a separate compartment, all the information regarding your order and diamond are included as well. Overall, the experience is exceptional and I would no hesitate again to order from JamesAllen.com again.

A.R. 10/10 (Sep 10, 2015)

I enjoyed buying jewelry from James Allen. They were very helpful and the product is great. My wedding band, engagement band, and fiance's wedding band are from there.

Lauren W. 10/10 (Sep 10, 2015)

Fantastic experience with James Allen. All my concerns and questions where answered. The french pave engagement ring paired with a .81 carat round diamond looked better than the pictures. Her friends cant stop talking about it. Because the diamond stands on its own I would advise not to go any smaller than I did. This ring would have easily cost 1-2k more at a local jeweler.

Jason G. 10/10 (Sep 09, 2015)

Read More


Great website, easy to use, better product, service and value then any retail store.

(Oct 03, 2015)

I was very surprised that the ring I bought was so beautiful. Well done!! Thank you.Overall, not too bad. Wonderful website.

Jane (Sep 30, 2015)

I was very apprehensive ordering online but the process was simple, guarantees assuring, and product utterly spectacular! Thanks so much!Everything depends on what I think of it when the ring arrives. Future wife better love it!

Johnny Dangerously (Sep 28, 2015)

My experience with James Allen was better than expected. I purchased an i1 diamond because it appeared to eye clean from the 3D picture on the website. I was so nervous that one of the larger inclusions would end up being visible to the naked eye so I asked them to cover it with a prong which they did. A week and a half later I received my ring and it is absolutely gorgeous. You would never know my diamond is an i1 and I get so many compliments of how beautiful and sparkly it is. My advice...do your research on crown and pavilion angles to get the optimum balance of size, brilliance and fire. You may have to do a lot of digging to find the perfect diamond but it will come and you will be so impressed with your purchase!James Allen made it very easy to view all the diamonds I was interested in and after a ton of research I was finally able to place my order. The 24/7 diamond experts were wonderful in helping me find a diamond.

MichelleM (Sep 27, 2015)

I do not think they have diamonds on hand. I requested a picture and that was not available. Otherwise very nice experience

Chan (Sep 25, 2015)

Working with James Allen was an incredible experience. The FedEx delivery was the worse part as they did not deliver my package but instead made me go to a shipping center to pick it up.

(Sep 23, 2015)

My whole experience with James Allen was great! My purchase was delivered in a very beautiful package and the ring with diamond was more beautiful in hand then online. Thank you

Joey (Sep 21, 2015)

Great selection and value.great site. Helpful on-line chat feature.

dasher (Sep 21, 2015)

Ordered ring with engraving. Ring was delivered without engraving. Rest of product was like advertised, which was very well displayed on the page.

(Sep 15, 2015)

Great product, horrible on delivery!Great site and purchase experience!

jobeone (Sep 14, 2015)

Fantastic ring, exactly as presented....very very happy.

Trish (Sep 13, 2015)

Website well made and works a treat Products are well displayed and authenticity was never in questionSeeing as how I just ordered and I dont have the bits yet - be a bit early wouldnt it???

develec (Sep 12, 2015)

Did a fair amount of research before buying my diamond. In every aspect James Allen was at or near the top, so it made sense to buy here. Diamond was just as described, came quickly, and was packed very securely. I heartily give my recommendation!

(Sep 10, 2015)

My ring was delivered with a diamond missing on the band. Although customer service was very helpful and understanding about my issue, it put me in a predicament of either cancelling my proposal plans or proposing and then having to take the ring from my fiance. The ring should never have made it out their door with a diamond missing from it. They tried to claim it could have fallen out in shipping, but that is only more worrying-since the ring is shipped so carefully in multiple boxes and in a ring box basically wrapped in a big pillow. The box was not damaged upon delivery so it is only more concerning that a diamond would simply fall out while it was being moved gently from A to B. Clearly this is a case of an employee not properly checking the ring before sending out, and first impressions are everything. They have since been helpful in getting the ring fixed, and even expedited my shipment, but it was especially frustrating to have to go through this at all.

(Sep 09, 2015)

The ring is beautiful and well presented except the box containing the ring was dirty on the inside edges. I was able to clean it before proposing. I was promised following instructions I contacted FedEx who informed me there was no AUSFTA lodged. A customer service rep told me the shipping dept would reach out with a copy...last I ever heard. It worked out in the end. Also received my $100 discount AFTER I ordered so it could not be used on that order. Over all I am very pleased with the ring but disappointed with customer service. Thank you for the beautiful ring.I like the ability to see the diamond prior to purchasing it. The site was easy to use except the checkout Grrrr

ERB (Sep 09, 2015)

Superb shopping experience, excellent value, THIS is the way to purchase engagement rings & loose diamonds!Excellent buying experience. Can't wait to receive the ring!

Derik (Sep 08, 2015)

exc service for sure will buy again and recommend friends and familyexc service

hgma89 (Sep 07, 2015)

Overall a pretty good and smooth experience, prices appears to be a bit higher then other online retailers but the website made for a good shopping experience. It was concerning that my purchase did not make it out on time the first time due to QA and updates/contact over the course of the first few weeks were minimal.I found some settings I really loved and the website experience and user interface was wonderful but diamonds are priced a bit high comparatively to other. Although I really love the ring, do feel like I over payed a bit of the diamond.

Chris (Sep 02, 2015)

Amazing service, helpful staff, overall very satisfied. Really good selection of items.It's been a really smooth process, web chat was very helpful. Really impressed.

Dave (Sep 02, 2015)

Read More

Google Wallet

Excellent service and a greatproduct

Dale (Mar 25, 2013)

Everything went well. The whole process of importing was clearly explained and the ring was exactly like I expected.

Stuart (Aug 20, 2012)

Excellent; I need to get the ring re-sized and they have made it as painless and expedient as possible. Incredible customer service. Highly recommended.

ChaseF (Oct 12, 2011)

Fast, Responsive, great maintenance policies. They even have someone specifically assigned to assisting you.Thanks Tammy!

synaestheory (Sep 11, 2010)

This was my first time purchasing jewelries online and it was a scary one at first. But after making the purchase and saw how friendly customer support team was it makes me at rest. The package (Engagement ring) took 7 days from the day I made the order until the it steps at my door in Australia which was pretty fast. I cannot wait until I see the look on my fiance when she sees the ring... ;)

MozOmar (Oct 26, 2011)

The necklace was absolutely beautiful! JamesAllen.com representatives were extremely helpful and prompt. I would definitely use JamesAllen.com to buy products in the future.

Shopper (Jul 8, 2011)

The seller contacted me immediately after ordering to offer any assistance they could. The order shipped quickly and was exactly what I wanted.

Jacob (Oct 4, 2010)

A lot better than I expected! Competitor reviews were not that great and so I was speculative about even buying online, but their entire team made me feel very comfortable and they made this experience very special! Thanks JamesAllen.com!!!

Shopper (Jul 9, 2010)

Fast and friendly customer service along with a great selection make this store an excellent choice for your diamond jewelry needs! Customer service follows up with you until you've satisfactorily received the product, and delivery was exceptionally fast.

Micheal (Apr 23, 2010)

The service that James Allen provide before, during and after my purchase was simply awsome. They resize my ring at New York office a soon as I need it and all time they were so eficient. In fact i was so surprised about the beatifull ring, my fiance love it and the diamond was so beatiful better that a lot of option that I compared on New York jewerlies. Simply: EXELLENT

Shopper (Mar 8, 2010)

James Allen and Eileen were amazing in helping me get my ring and making sure I had it in time. The ring turned out perfect and I couldn't be happier.Eileen made sure that the ring was delivered ASAP. I only took 3 days from when I ordered to when I received the ring. The presentation box was gorgeous. Don't hesitate at all when ordering from James Allen.

AdamA (Jan 12, 2010)

Read More
View Clue