• 30-Day Returns
  • 100% Refund
  • Free Returns
  • Lifetime Warranty
  • Free Shipping

JamesAllen Reviews

Over the past few years, James Allen has sold over $100,000,000 worth of engagement rings and loose diamonds. We encourage each of our customer to post their review of the product and the process of buying their ring or diamond from us. Based on the thousands of reviews we receive on multiple review sites, we pride ourselves as the industry leader in quality ring manufacturing and customer satisfaction. Please find below some of the most recent reviews written about jamesallen.com. You can click on the Read More link at the bottom of each review column to read more reviews.

Ivouch

Researched for weeks on the best places to purchase an engagement ring both online and in retailers and found James Allen. Customer service truly is outstanding. Called them three times from early in the morning to late at night. Each time it was a pleasant experience and answered any questions I had. We purchased a cushion cut diamond which benefits from seeing pictures of the actual diamond as they are all unique. We found a diamond we fell in love with and did a bank wire transfer as well as some financing and the process was seamless. The packaging was as beautiful as the ring and really completes the experience. I highly recommend them for other ring purchases and will be a customer in the future.

D.M. 10/10 (Apr 28, 2015)

Awesome, they were available when I needed to speak with them and let me be when I was just browsing around. I ended up shopping for over a month before making a selection and they were completely fine with my pace... never felt rushed at all. When I did eventually narrow down my choice to a few diamonds they were very helpful explaining the benefits of each and I ended up with a beautiful diamond within my budget. I'm recommending this to everyone I know!

M.G. 10/10 (Apr 27, 2015)

Our buying experience was GREAT. We search others on-line options for a replacement diamond for my wife's ring. Being able to actually visualize each stone was a big plus! The shipment came right on the date. The packaging of the diamond was a real bonus - well done!! We had it evaluated by a local jeweler who confirmed the validity of our purchase. My wife loves her new ring with the new diamond!!

S.S. 0/10 (Apr 27, 2015)

Tia and the other employees at James Allen were absolutely wonderful. We went to the New York store and chose a beautiful setting but I was a little nervous and specific on diamond dementions I wanted. They helped me choose my dream ring. Its stunninng and I couldnt be happier with it. Ive kept in touch with her, sent her pictures after he purposed and will continue for our wedding band purchase and possible resizing, soldering and any other jewlery needs I have. You truly get the same personalized service even though your purchasing online and over the phone if not better and without pressure.

Jamie B. 10/10 (Apr 25, 2015)

I was hesitant to purchase a diamond online as it was such a big purchase, so I consulted with your salespeople a number of times, each of which was a positive experience. They were very helpful and knowledgeable, and not pushy at all. The price was excellent, and the quality was very impressive, much better than we could have found in a store. The package arrived on time, very attractively presented. Many thanks for your great customer service. I can recall some of their names: Garrett, Erica, and Sabrina, but all were great. I would definitely come back to your website to make any jewelry purchase in the future. P.S. My wife and I can't take our eyes off the diamond!

S.F. 10/10 (Apr 24, 2015)

I don’t think I could have asked for a better experience than I got with James Allen. I started looking for an engagement ring months ago, going to the typical brick and mortar stores, but it seemed like I was getting the run around, conflicting information, and generally poor customer service. I had a stone ordered into a store and never received a call that it had come in. I ended up calling them well after the date they said it would be arrive just to find out that it had been sold at another store and wasn’t an option. They proceeded to offer me stones they knew were outside my budget as a replacement, needless to say I decided to go another route. I did some research into online retailers, and ultimately settled on James Allen for a number of reasons: They were upfront about their return/exchange policy (when you are spending so much on something you won’t get to see before you buy, knowing you won’t be stuck with it if you don’t like it is incredibly reassuring), they only stock GIA certified stones so you know the quality should vary little from traditional stores, and they have high resolution, zoomed in images of each stone (some other sites do as well, but they only have them for a select few and you have to take their word that the other stones are truly “eye clean” without having really ever seen it. This last point was the biggest thing that sold me on James Allen, I appreciated being able to really scrutinize the stone before I bought it). After searching their site within the parameters of what I was looking for and my budget, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could afford a slightly larger stone in a better setting than I could at most anywhere else. I settled on a stone that I considered a bit of a gamble (the color grade was lower than I wanted, but the stone was a VVS2, larger than I had been finding elsewhere, and was right on budget), picked a setting, and finalized the sale. I received the finished ring about 10 days later and was disappointed that my gamble hadn’t paid off. The stone was in fact too yellow for my liking (though no fault of James Allen, I knew I may not be happy with the color when I bought it). I immediately called them to set up an exchange. I was frustrated, a bit upset (as it altered my proposal date), and concerned about finding a suitable replacement stone that was still in budget. The customer service staff couldn’t have been easier or more pleasant to work with! There was no questioning, no persuasion to keep the ring I wasn’t happy with, nothing. They even assisted in finding a new stone. I had found one I liked, but was considerably more than I wanted to spend, and while I was on the phone with them an associate found a stone (that turned out to be perfect, and basically identical in physical dimension) that was $1600 less than the stone I found, was completely eye clean (which I could see for myself due to their images online), and ended up being $110 less than the original ring I was sending back. They had the chance to upsell me considerably but knew it would put me way over budget, so they helped me find a better alternative. If that doesn’t speak to their dedication to customer service, I don’t know what does. I can’t help but think that had the same thing happened at a traditional store, given my experience with them a month earlier, that they would have done everything they could to get me to spend more, regardless of my budget. Ultimately, I ended up with a stone that was larger (around .80ct was all I could afford in the other stores but I ended with a .94ct oval with face dimensions that were basically identical to the 1.01ct I originally got), was in the setting that I wanted but couldn’t afford elsewhere, and all for just UNDER my intended budget. I feel that traditional stores fail to realize what is important to customers; we just want someone that will listen, accept our budget, and really work to help maximize what we can get for what we have. James Allen could have sold me a stone that was much more expensive than what I got, but they choose to help me, not themselves. What they lost in that one transaction they stand to gain in my future business and referral. I will, and have to one friend looking for a ring, refer them to friends. You can be sure that the next time I am in the market for jewelry (not another engagement ring I hope) that they will be the first place I look. True customer service is hard to come by these days, but James Allen and the people they employ are the real deal. They made what was otherwise a stressful endeavor that much easier, and I could not be more thankful. I had some trepidation regarding purchasing something like this online, but those worries were quickly eliminated after dealing with this company. You’d be crazy to go anywhere else. If I had one complaint it would be the ring box: which, while very nice and wonderfully packaged, it’s a bit bulky and doesn’t hide well in a pocket or suit jacket, maybe having some options on that would be a welcome change. Joseph Flores-Toro

Joseph F. 10/10 (Apr 23, 2015)

Top notch service provided by every employee that handled my purchase. I was very sceptical about buying jewelry on a website to begin with but the experience definitely changed my mind. Being able to view my exact diamond in hd and having all the gia credentials made my decision much easier. Went to several jewellers in my town and could not find anything that compared to my finished product! Best decision I ever made in buying an engagement ring! My girl is going to be ecstatic when she sees the ring! Thank you James Allen and employees. I will definitely be doing business with you all again for wedding bands. Brian from Florida

Brian B. 10/10 (Apr 21, 2015)

The customer service at James Allen is top notch - they answered all my questions and cleared any doubts I had on international payment/shipping. They even helped me key in the order details, which included some difficult non-English words. While it took some time to get it done, the staff was there to guide me till the end. Once my credit card was verified and charged, it didn't take long before my order was shipped to Hong Kong. With FedEx International Priority, the tracking was precise and in just 4 working days, the shipment arrived. The parcel contained an outer shoe box-sized white box. When the lid is opened, you are presented with a red lacquered ring box in the middle. The certificates, invoice and other documentation are stored in a drawer on the side of the outer box. Very classy and well thought-out. The ring itself was stunning. I got a 0.52ct, TrueHearts cut, F VS2 diamond with a 6-prong presentation setting. The workmanship was flawless and the diamond sparkled brilliantly. Both my girlfriend and I couldn't stop looking at it. Highly recommended. If you have any doubts (Especially international customers), just give their customer service a call and they will be more than glad to sort it out for you.

Eong Xien Tan 10/10 (Apr 21, 2015)

As a younger shopper I am a product of the online experience. I began my search for an engagement ring however in brick and mortar stores, as I understood was normal. I either felt like I was being taken for a fool or that stores were unwilling to work with what I was looking for. I felt overly pressured at most places too. I visited 20+ shops, chains and privately owned. I began to look online and came across many online jewelers that seemed to be having success. James Allen was one of a few but it didn't initially stand out from the herd. It was only when I began contacting companies that I realized what an online jeweler experience should be, James Allen is it. You can read all about about the benefits of shopping on JA from their site (free resizing, constant availability, pricing, etc). However what made my experience really special was working with David C. I consider myself to be likely one of the most annoying customer. I need to know how everything works, how the metals are sourced, what processes the jewelers use. I likely ask far more questions than the average customer. Yet David was right there in my inbox and available by phone to answer any questions I had and address any concerns. I did need to get a ring resized and that was no hassle at all. I was dissatisfied at the size of the ring engraving after getting the resize back. James Allen was great about fixing this at no cost to me. Overnight shipping on everything back to me as well. I've since made another purchase with James Allen and I intend to also purchase wedding bands with them as well. I think that if you are looking for a unique online experience then James Allen sets the bar for that that should be. You can look elsewhere like I did but I don't think you will find better.

Brian B. 10/10 (Apr 21, 2015)

Buying a diamond online can be really intimidating especially since most websites don't provide you with images of the diamond. That was one thing I found so unique with James Allen. On top of that, I can't say enough about the amazing customer support I received. My contact was Hilary Cree and the attention to detail and responsiveness she provided in every aspect of my engagement ring buying process was amazing. I'm the type that will as every question imaginable and she was so patient throughout. On top of that, the customer support team was very unified in guiding me at times when Hilary was unavailable. When I received the ring, I was so happy knowing this was everything I wanted and so much more. Thank you James Allen! I am definitely recommending you to all of my friends.

R.S. 10/10 (Apr 20, 2015)

Read More

Bizrate

I had spent a lot of time and effort to do research on how to get the perfect engagement ring for my girlfriend, until I got to know JamesAllen, things got much easier. I would like to consider possibility of viewing actual pics of diamonds in 3D as the No1 thing I like about JA, but in fact it is the customer service that scores the top. I have used online chat with JA's staff 4 times regarding different things from which ring is better, shipping and import tax matters to resizing and warranty policy, and all the times I got prompt, helpful, friend ly and time-efficient advice. Shipping was on-time, packaging was elegant, documents attached were clear and adequate. About the ring, the image and zoom option available on JA website could not beat the actual one! It's beautifully crafted and finely finished. It shines and sparkles, too! My fiance loved it, undoubtedly. So thank you very much JA!

Tung Dang (May 04, 2015)

She said yes last night! She was stunned by the ring, it was better than I could have hoped.

(May 03, 2015)

I am extremely happy with my purchase from James Allen. From the online photos of the actual diamonds to the online chat and support. They are top notch. Purchasing was easy, shipping to Singapore had no issues. Not to mention the packaging is very nice.One of the best online shopping experiences ever. The magnified image of he actual diamond in 360 degrees made all the difference. The 24/7 online chat staff were great. they helped answer my questions and had lots of patience with me. Would definitely shop James Allen again.

LaserBoi (May 02, 2015)

I am more than happy with my entire experience at James Allen. The diamond that I got was perfect, for the perfect woman. Not only was the diamond better than anything I found at any local jewelers, but the quality was by far greater than any diamond that I had looked at. Their customer service is very professional and curtious. I would recommend this company to anyone looking for any type of jewerly.

jporinchok (May 02, 2015)

Everything appeared much larger in the pictures online. It's still a very attractive ring just not quite as impressive in person. Think it might be better not to magnify the pictures to such an extent or at least put an actual size so customers want be confused .

(May 01, 2015)

The ring is beautiful, and the packaging as well. The only issue I have with my order, is that the ring I ordered was not the one I received. Let me explain: The website has two exactly the same images for my ring that I ordered, but one of them has a satin finish, whilst the other is high polished. I wanted the high polish one, but since the image for the satin one displays high polish, I accidently selected that one for my order. This is the only issue I have, and I was disappointed at first, but now I will keep it like that for a while, to see if it grows on me, and if not, I will need to take it to a jewelry shop to get it polished.Smooth checkout procedure and ordering. I have a friend that purchased a ring from James Allen, and it is really nice, which was the reason to why I choose this vendor.

rhellstenius (Apr 30, 2015)

It was quick and easy to order with James Allen. I'm always a bit skeptical with online purchases especially with items of this value but I was confident with my research that James Allen would provide a reliable and quality product. This product did not disappoint. I received the product in a timely manner, with great customer support when I wanted it, and the product looked better than what I expected! I love the ring I bought and would recommend this web site to anyone!I found a lot of great reviews about the site and feel comfortable in a reliable and good quality product. Customer service was excellent also.

Alex (Apr 29, 2015)

Very happy with my purchase and my diamond + setting looks exactly like the pictures on the website. No surprises here. My engagement ring came on time and it was nicely packaged. Highly recommend this to my friends and will look here for future purchases.

Ally (Apr 27, 2015)

The ability to see the actual diamond I was buying, in addition to the 30 days no risk return policy, made me very comfortable purchasing the diamond from James Allen. The diamond arrived on time and in a very sturdy but elegant case. Would definitely consider purchasing from James Allen again!Being able to see the actual diamond was incredibly helpful. The no questions asked 30-day return policy also really helped ease the burden of committing to the purchase.

Kun (Apr 25, 2015)

Amazingly quick delivery, quality of product was extremely high, website was very informative and clearOne of the best online engagement sites I've visited. The band selection was intuitive and the diamond selection was clear and simple. One suggestion would be to have a note saying you can select more than one item on the diamond filters (VS1 + VS2 instead of VS1 or VS2) but other than that, absolutely no problems. Though, I have just ordered the ring and have yet to recieve it.

(Apr 24, 2015)

Great service and great selection of rings and diamondsStunning Diamonds. Lovely support and website.

Marvin (Apr 24, 2015)

Great Customer Service!THey are awesome! The website is great and then staff was helpful.

Evan (Apr 23, 2015)

Awesome product and services!!Awesome website and produce!

(Apr 20, 2015)

Thank you to everyone at James Allen for creating the perfect engagement ring. At first frustrated, customer service at James Allen reassured me and gave me confidence in buying my ring. In short, customer service at James Allen is unmatched. Specifically, your team member Sarah Null guided me every step of the way and exceeded every expectation possible in purchasing the ring. What an incredible asset to your team! It was truly a great overall experience. The incredible ring was just the icing on the cake. Any customer looking for an engagement ring should look no further than James Allen! Thank you all again!

Bobby (Apr 18, 2015)

I give 5 stars

tia (Apr 17, 2015)

I really liked James Allen's website, especially the 20x pictures of the diamonds. The ring is absolutely stunning and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. The only improvement I'd recommend is more communication during the process, if possible. I didn't receive any notifications from the time I placed the order to the time it was shipped.

Ed (Apr 16, 2015)

Great experience. This purchase was for the matching band (14016P) to a ring previously purchased. My wife loves both and couldn't be happier. They look fantastic. Well worth the money.Very nice experience once I did my homework. Knowing nothing about diamonds it is intimidating to spend this kind of money "on faith", but I felt very comfortable by the time I made the purchase. Esdras was helpful during an online chat as well.

Papa (Apr 15, 2015)

The experience was a pleasure. The product met all my expectations and the customer service was very helpful and friendly.Great experience

matty (Apr 13, 2015)

Read More

Google Wallet

Excellent service and a greatproduct

Dale (Mar 25, 2013)

Everything went well. The whole process of importing was clearly explained and the ring was exactly like I expected.

Stuart (Aug 20, 2012)

Excellent; I need to get the ring re-sized and they have made it as painless and expedient as possible. Incredible customer service. Highly recommended.

ChaseF (Oct 12, 2011)

Fast, Responsive, great maintenance policies. They even have someone specifically assigned to assisting you.Thanks Tammy!

synaestheory (Sep 11, 2010)

This was my first time purchasing jewelries online and it was a scary one at first. But after making the purchase and saw how friendly customer support team was it makes me at rest. The package (Engagement ring) took 7 days from the day I made the order until the it steps at my door in Australia which was pretty fast. I cannot wait until I see the look on my fiance when she sees the ring... ;)

MozOmar (Oct 26, 2011)

The necklace was absolutely beautiful! JamesAllen.com representatives were extremely helpful and prompt. I would definitely use JamesAllen.com to buy products in the future.

Shopper (Jul 8, 2011)

The seller contacted me immediately after ordering to offer any assistance they could. The order shipped quickly and was exactly what I wanted.

Jacob (Oct 4, 2010)

A lot better than I expected! Competitor reviews were not that great and so I was speculative about even buying online, but their entire team made me feel very comfortable and they made this experience very special! Thanks JamesAllen.com!!!

Shopper (Jul 9, 2010)

Fast and friendly customer service along with a great selection make this store an excellent choice for your diamond jewelry needs! Customer service follows up with you until you've satisfactorily received the product, and delivery was exceptionally fast.

Micheal (Apr 23, 2010)

The service that James Allen provide before, during and after my purchase was simply awsome. They resize my ring at New York office a soon as I need it and all time they were so eficient. In fact i was so surprised about the beatifull ring, my fiance love it and the diamond was so beatiful better that a lot of option that I compared on New York jewerlies. Simply: EXELLENT

Shopper (Mar 8, 2010)

James Allen and Eileen were amazing in helping me get my ring and making sure I had it in time. The ring turned out perfect and I couldn't be happier.Eileen made sure that the ring was delivered ASAP. I only took 3 days from when I ordered to when I received the ring. The presentation box was gorgeous. Don't hesitate at all when ordering from James Allen.

AdamA (Jan 12, 2010)

Read More